So… What is this blog about?

Well, I want to develop my skills in reflection and critical analysis as an Occupational Therapy student and decided a blog would be a suitable space for publishing my musings and encouraging me to do more than just read the literature.

 

I also feel that it might be helpful for myself, and others, to explore the transition from being someone who has had a lot of experience being on the receiving end of mental health services, through recovery, to becoming the trained professional delivering the services of the future.  

 

Some of the areas I imagine I’d like to write about include:

What is it like to be an OT student with an extensive history of mental health problems?

Is it helpful to try and synthesis the experience of service-user with professional? 

  • How do I manage the boundaries of disclosure and self-protection with utilising, including some incredibly privileged, insight into the experience of being a service-user?
  • How is my history received by fellow students and staff members?
  • Do I risk ‘hanging on’ to the past, or is acknowledging my history while being mindfully ‘in a different place’ just a facet of good self-awareness.

I’m also hoping to reflect on items I read to ensure I develop skills in really processing the information I encounter.

 

So, feel free to comment – I will be approving posts to protect myself and if it becomes unhelpful I will disable the feature, hopefully I’ll receive some constructive feedback and discussion.

 

4 thoughts on “So… What is this blog about?

  1. I just want to thank you for this blog; it’s a topic I’m interested in at the moment. I’m considering doing a degree to eventually try and do something in the mental health field, and having experienced the system myself and lived with mental illness for most of my life, I do worry that I’ll find it difficult.

    • Hi 🙂

      Thanks for your comment, and I hope this blog is helpful to you.

      I think it’s important to take your time and really try and figure out if it’s the right thing to do. I do believe ex service users have great expertise for the profession, but it can’t be at the cost of recovery.

      Good luck with your own journey.

  2. Blimey riley…. you’ve just described me!!! I’m just about to graduate as an OT after a long period of time using mh services. I look forward to following your blog.
    btw there’s an australian blog of transition from mh to OT (willfindhope.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

